The Russian Federation.

Our country which is called Russia is one of the largest countries in the world. Its territory is 17million square km. It lies both in Europe and Asia. It is bounded by Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Byelorussia, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Chine and Korea. It is washed by the Arctic Ocean in the north and by the Pacific Ocean in the east. Some parts of the country are covered with mountains and hills, the largest of them are: the Urals. There are many large rivers in Russia: the Volga, the Ob, the Lena, the Yenisei, the Amur. Baikal is the deepest lake and the Caspian Sea is the largest lake in the world.

The climate is different in different parts of the country. In the east it is warmer in summer than in the west, but winter is colder than in the east. The climate on the Black Sea is subtropical.

The population of Russia is 148 million people. The country is divided into territories and regions. There are autonomous republics, regions and areas. All nationalities differ from each other, but they have equal rights.

Russia has a developed industry and agriculture though they are in crises now. Our country is rich in coal, oil, natural gas, iron ore and gold. We produce heavy machines, agricultural machines, airplanes, lorries, cars, tractors, refrigerators, railway carriages, ships, boats, TV and radio sets. Agriculture produced meat, milk, eggs, grows different vegetables such as: potatoes, cabbage, carrots and so on.

1.     Where is Russia situated?

2.     What countries does Russia border on?

3.     What is the capital of Russia?

4.     Are some parts of Russia covered with mountains and hills?

5.     What are the longest rivers?

6.     Are there many beautiful lakes in Russia?

7.     Is climate different in different parts of the country?

8.     What is Russia rich in?

9.     Is Russia a very large country?

10.What is the population of Russia?